AHA Prizes 2015-2016

AHAAustralian Historical Association Prizes 2015-2016 – At a glance


The W.K. Hancock Prize was instituted in 1987 by the Australian Historical Association to honour the contribution to the study and writing of history in Australia by Sir Keith Hancock. Offering a $2,000 prize and citation, it is intended to give recognition and encouragement to an Australian scholar who has published a first scholarly book in any field of history in 2014 or 2015.


The Jill Roe Prize is an annual prize established by the AHA to honour the career of Professor Emerita Jill Roe, an eminent Australian historian who has made a very significant contribution to the writing, teaching and public communication of history in Australia and abroad. The Jill Roe Prize will be awarded annually for the best unpublished article-length work (5,000-8,000 words) of historical research in any area of historical enquiry, produced by a postgraduate student enrolled for a History degree at an Australian university.


National Archives of Australia/Australian Historical Association scholarships
NAA/AHA scholarships assist talented postgraduate scholars with the cost of copying records held in the Archives. Assistance with digital copying costs will provide access to material that might not otherwise be possible. Four scholarships worth $650 each will be awarded annually.


AHA/Copyright Agency Travel and Writing Bursaries
This funding opportunity for postgraduate students and independent historians encourages and supports emerging historians who would otherwise be unable to attend the annual AHA conference. Ten bursaries, of $700 each, will cover travel and accommodation for participants at the AHA conference at the Federation University Ballarat, 4–8 July 2016; the conference registration fee will be waived for bursary recipients.

Please see the AHA website for full details of prizes including eligibility and deadlines.